IE: Organization of Instruction

I: Instructional

The basic structure of the school district consists of two main divisions:  elementary schools and secondary schools. 

The elementary schools include schools with Kindergarten through Grade 7.  The secondary schools include schools with Grades 8 through 12. 

The instructional program is arranged in units commonly designated as grades, each grade approximating a year's work.  However, multi-level offerings may be established to meet the needs of individual students whose continuous progress may be better served in that way; such departures from the regular organization plan will be recommended by the Superintendent of Schools and approved by the Board of School Trustees within the terms of the School Act and Regulation

DMT Responsibility: AS-DLS

Cross References: 
IGA: Basic Curriculum Design
Adopted Date: 
Monday October 18, 1982
Revision Date: 
Aug 1990
Sep 1994