Superintendent Steve Cardwell Receives Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal

Education Minister Don McRae presented three distinguished British Columbians with the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal this Thursday in recognition of their service to the public education system in B.C.

Anne Cooper, Laura Verhoeven and Steve Cardwell joined McRae in his office for the medal presentations, along with Shuswap MLA and former Education Minister George Abbott.

Cooper is a former superintendent of the Revelstoke school district, Verhoeven is a Sooke school teacher and Cardwell is superintendent of the Vancouver school district.

The Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal was created to mark the 2012 celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty's accession to the throne. Medal recipients have made a significant contribution to a province, territory, region or community within Canada, or an achievement abroad that brings credit to Canada.

Cardwell was recognized by McRae as a long-standing supporter of public education in B.C. Over the past two years, he has served as president of B.C. School Superintendents' Association and is currently on the Ministry of Education Capital Advisory Planning Committee, BC Council on Admissions and Transfer, Technology Education and Careers Council as well as many additional provincial committees. 

"Anne, Laura and Steve epitomize the sacrifice and dedication the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal represents, and I am very honoured to present them this award. Their contributions to our education system have been phenomenal, and I thank them for their service," said Don McRae, Minister of Education. 

Back to top