schools gladstone gladstone 63 63

English

Welcome to the Gladstone English Department

Gladstone’s English Department strives to foster a sense of creativity and joy in the study of English Language Arts. We are committed to helping students develop and enhance comprehensive reading and writing skills that will support them through to graduation and beyond to the world of work or to post-secondary studies. We collaborate with Gladstone’s Mini School, providing enriched courses and electives at the senior level including Focused Literary Studies 11: Pre AP, English 12 AP, Writing 12 and Focused Literary Studies 12: British Literature - Medieval to Contemporary. 

Each grade level reading list offers a variety of classic and contemporary texts, with an emphasis on Canadian and Indigenous literatures. We take pride in being one of the first schools in the district to offer and run English First Peoples 10 and 12. Additionally, our strong Creative Writing program encourages students to cultivate and explore their personal artistry in a variety of forms. 

 

Please refer to the course booklet for a description of all English courses taught from Grade 8 to 12:

 

The English Department:

 

Ms. Shirley Burdon, Department Head: sburdon@vsb.bc.ca

Ms. Christa Duttchen: cduttchen@vsb.bc.ca

Ms. Giselle Jallad: gjallad@vsb.bc.ca - See Edmodo for class pages.

Ms. Roberta Loo: rloo@vsb.bc.ca - See Edmodo for class pages.

Mr. Jason O’Malley: jomalley@vsb.bc.ca

Ms. Jillian O’Quinn: joquinn@vsb.bc.ca

Mr. Patrick Sheppard: pdsheppard@vsb.bc.ca and blogs.ubc.ca/mrsheppard

Ms. C. Sarah Steele: csteele@vsb.bc.ca 

Back to top