Item Details
schools john-oliver john-oliver 78 78

Update from JO Administration ( AS OF JUNE 9, 2020)

image description

Hello Families,


Well it is now June.  It has been a whirlwind of items occurring over the past few weeks in order to make the school safe for student return.  We have implemented the district's vision of how schools can operate on a 20% density model with a 4 smaller block day and students coming to 4 classes a week.  This trial will help us plan for September where we will definitely be having more students attend eager to learn the next year's curriculum.  


As we near the end of the year, please look for emails on Year end procedures such as Textbook collection, Equipment return, Yearbook distribution, and Grad related items.  We will also be sending or posting out information on items that will be starting next year ... for instance you can read about the transition in Secondary School Reporting and Next Year's calendar is already up.


Thank you to all the families for supporting your children through these tough and unprecedented times, we can only provide some minimal structure, but it is you who are guiding them.  



If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Our office staff are available by phone from 9-2:30pm (604-713-8938)

Student counsellors are as follows:


Grade 8/ Grade 12 last names beginning with A-D – Ms Alvares - aalvares@vsb.bc.ca

Grade 9/ Grade 12 last names beginning with E-R – Ms Birkenhead - sbirkenhea@vsb.bc.ca

Grade 10/ Grade 12 last names beginning with S-Z – Mr. Steinruck – asteinruck@vsb.bc.ca

Grade 11 and Take A Hike – Mr. Edge - redge@vsb.bc.ca


All our best and please stay safe! - JO Adminstration


Brent Schieman .. Principal bschieman@vsb.bc.ca

Doris Sandri .. Vice Principal dsandri@vsb.bc.ca

Corrine Kinnon .. Vice Principal ckinnon@vsb.bc.ca

Back to top