Item Details
schools maple-grove maple-grove 103 103

Uplifted and supported: 2021 Administrators Recognition Scholarship recipients

| Categories: Student Success

image description

To honour principals and vice-principals and the vital role they play in students’ success, the District awards two $2,500 scholarships to graduating students each year. To be eligible for this scholarship, students must demonstrate a strong academic record, school involvement and academic leadership. The 2021 recipients are Megan Soo and Charlotte Lemon.

Magee Secondary student Megan Soo believes a truly outstanding administrator is not only one that supports you through the good times but steps up during the tough times too. In February 2020, Soo suffered a devastating injury after playing in the BC High School Provincial Basketball Championships. Soo’s vice-principal, Kelly Egilsson, was there to offer Soo words of encouragement throughout her recovery process. By August 2020, Soo was fully recovered, and Egilsson continued to offer the same support. “I am very grateful for Mr. Egilsson, and I am inspired to empower others because of this,” says Soo.

At Windermere Secondary, Charlotte Lemon says thoughtful leaders like principal Benita Kwon made school a better place to learn. For the past three years, Lemon looked up to Kwon as she uplifted the school community and provided students with exceptional learning experiences.

In May 2021, Lemon proposed an idea to create a mural for Asian Heritage Month and immediately got Kwon’s support. After completing the mural, Lemon says Kwon encouraged her to continue working on projects that will inspire the next generation of experiential learners. “Ms. Kwon helped me make my mark on Windermere and leave a legacy at my high school,” Lemon shares. “I am beyond thankful for this scholarship opportunity."

With her eyes set on Western University, Lemon plans to pursue a Bachelor of Management and Organizational Studies and hopes for advanced entry into the Ivey School of Business during her third year.

The annual scholarships were set up on Administrative and Management Staff Appreciation Day, celebrated on December 5 each year, in honour of all administrators across the District.

Learn more about the scholarships
that celebrate administrators’ dedicated contributions to student learning.

Back to top